And the little one said “Roll over” – Practicalities of Co-sleeping

Sleep! We take it for granted until we aren’t getting any.  When I was pregnant with Darling Son Number 1, friends told me to sleep while I could (but I didn’t)…..if only I’d known he wouldn’t sleep through the night ’til he was seven!!!!!!! I really agonised over the whole sleep thing with him…I wanted him in my room at night but somehow I’d gotten the idea that the nursery at the other end of the house would be better.   And then as he got older there was the whole thing about whether to let him come into bed with me.

I quite liked sleeping snuggled up next to him (& in truth we both slept well that way) but again I listened to ALL the advice I was given and struggled night after night as he woke sometimes upto 4 times . I was working 3 days a week at that stage and would dutifully put him back into his own bed each time on the nights I wasn’t working, but as the week wore on and I became tireder (is that a word?) I would only put him back the first or second times.  By the third night he would sneak in and I wouldn’t wake at all!  Eventually I decided we just had to stop worrying about other people thought and do what worked for me.

With my younger two I haven’t given it a second thought.  My hubby is fine with kids in the bed, having done so with his first son (a.k.a. Number 1 SuperStep-son).  When we were expecting our youngest, I asked him what we would do when she wanted to sleep with us – DS2 had starfished into position to take up a LARGE portion of the middle of the bed.  I think I fell in love all over again when DH said “We’ll get a bigger bed!”  Which brings me to the point of this post – co-sleeping and doing it safely.

In a previous post I touched on this briefly, but since then I have come across heaps more info and would love to hear other people’s stories on what they do.

Currently, we bring the toddler (aged 2) into bed with us if he wakes.  He slept in his own cot in our room until he was 18 months (but was always taken into bed with us if he woke), then we moved him into his own room across the hall in preparation for the arrival of the baby – who came 2 months later.  She sleeps in a cot at the end of our bed, which is fine, but I find I am not as comfortable feeding her in bed with me (or bringing her in) because our toddler is taking up the middle space already and I am worried he will roll on her.  And then last night I found this photo of a “sidecar cot”!

I really like this arrangement but when I priced the cot £230 not including shipping from UK I decided to check out some other options and found a wealth of information.  These are some of my favourites:

       

It seems lots of people also just put their mattresses on the floor, but I don’t think I would enjoy that…..hmmmm maybe I will just show this pic to Darling Hubby and see what he comes up with!

Blessings

Larissa

BTW He was inspired…will post pics when he has built it!!!

A recent update…this is what happens when you put cosleeping kids used to queenbed into bed with you in caravan…no room for me 😦

1 Comment

  1. Woohoo….DH has been talking plans and buying wood…hopefully he will build crib for me soon

Leave a Reply

